Homemade Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

homemade roasted pumpkin seeds

I have a passion with pumpkins. When October or November comes and it’s time to harvest them, you know where I’ll be. That’s right. In the kitchen with my pumpkins. I use so many pumpkins every year, I always have pumpkin seeds. So many I couldn’t possibly have any use–yet any room–for all that has become held within my hands. But I am not one to waste. In my family wasting is a big no-no. So we use our pumpkin seeds to make these Homemade Roasted Pumpkin Seeds.

IMG_5347

In the picture above, these seeds are floating on top of water. I use this method to separate the pulp from the seeds.

pumpkin_seeds1

I like to put these on my salad, along with my Sweet~N~Salty Coconut Chips. They are very easy to make and so deliciously. I really love making these Homemade Roasted Pumpkin Seeds, and I hope you do too! I make these so often in November, some might say I’ve got to much. So what better thing to do than to make them into little gifts? I like to put them in cute containers like the one in my pictures.

Enjoy!

Homemade Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole, raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. seasoning salt
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Rinse the pumpkin seeds in warm water (there will be some pulp left over but the next step will help you out a bit). Pour washed seeds in a medium bowl of water; the pulp will sink, the seeds will rise.
  3. In a small mixing bowl, combine oil and salt. Then fold in washed pumpkin seeds and spread on a medium baking sheet. Bake in the oven for 10-15, stirring every 5 minutes or so. Cool and store in a airtight container.

Like this recipe? Try these:

Sweet_salty_coconut_chips

Sweet~N~Salty Coconut Chips

cranberry_almond_granola4

Cranberry Almond Granola

Leave a Reply

